I am a rock. I am an island.

Some days are naturally harder than others.  Dave was tired and cranky today, and so was I.  I guess I was feeling sorry for myself which made room for Fear, Melancholy, Worry, and even Envy to rear their ugly heads.  Luckily, it was short lived and I got over myself and enjoyed a very fun evening with the kids at the end of year swim team party.

Dave was tired because he probably did way too much this weekend.  He volunteered at the swim meet, played tennis, and then attended a dinner event with old friends all while trying to bounce back from his latest infusion.  As you can see, this cancer thing is not slowing him down much.

Some days I am a rock, and other days I feel more like an island.  On those lonely island days, I bow my head or raise my face up and list all of the blessings in my life and give thanks.  And it always makes me feel better.

xoxo

Robyn

Image

10 thoughts on “I am a rock. I am an island.

  1. Robyn know that on all days the love of your family and friends is there to sooth and help you through it all.. Hugs and kisses. I think you are the bravest person I know exceot for maybe Dave Aunt Carolyn

  2. Hang in there, all of you!. I know you , Robyn, and Dave too, are people who see their cups at least 1/2 full. This will help you get through the not so great times. Yes Dave probably did more than was wise to do, but that is him….trying to make everyday an adventure, and that is probably a good thing, as long as he and others do not pay the price for his over doing it! We love you and are hear always to support and help. Mom

  3. My best friend in high school lost her older brother to cancer when we were young. He was sick for many years and I can remember her mom saying something one time when everyone was fighting that she liked those days the most because things were normal. It was okay to be in a bad mood and not always want to be lovey dovey because they were siblings and fought before the cancer. It made her feel like not everything had to change.

Leave a Reply

