“I Love You”

ImageBefore I write anything down, I usually let a topic ping around in my head for a day or two.  I mentally brainstorm as I am sitting in traffic or before I fall asleep at night.  Sometimes I realize that I don’t have enough to say, or that it might not be all that interesting or relevant.  The idea that I was mulling over most of Saturday was the use of the words “I love you.”  

I had a basic idea of what I wanted to convey, but Saturday night cemented it.  That night we bid farewell for now to our dear friends who are about to embark on a two year adventure on the other side of the world.  As they were leaving, Lexy gave me a hug and told me she loved me.  Maybe to her it was out of habit or rote, but I was so touched.  To me it meant “We are there for you. We are going to be thinking about you even from afar.  We care about you.”  I couldn’t help but wonder where all our lives will be when we next see each other.  That simple sentence meant the world to me now more than ever.  It solidified for me how important it is to tell people how you feel.

For as long as I can remember, I have been afraid that I will lose someone, and I won’t have told them how much they mean to me.   If you know my history, you might think that this stems back to when I was 2 1/2 and I was with my birth mother and her family one day and with a completely new family the next.  But I know this is not why.  It is because of an interaction between my grandfather and my brother which I don’t remember in person, but I know the story.  So, I have always felt that it was important to tell my family that I love them as often as possible.  It has been since Dave’s diagnosis that I have realized how necessary it is to extend this past my immediate family.  After all, I love Dave’s family, my extended family and my friends too.  I don’t take the words lightly, and I never want them to be an automatic response, but I believe that they should be said.  I know how comforted and supported it makes me feel when someone I care about tells me they love me, and I hope others feel the same way too.

I love you.

Robyn

11 thoughts on ““I Love You”

  1. Never forget how much you are loved by so many. We may not be family but over the years you’ve become a very, very special friend. You’ve inspired me in so many ways. I no longer take for granted my family. I try every day to show a little love even if it kills me!!! I no longer take for granted the very blessings we have. It’s really strange how this past year has gone. Keep the faith and know you and your family are in our prayers. Your high school friend from preschool. LOVE YA!!!!!!

  2. Robyn, I think this message about the words “I love you,” is just the best, in any situation, for anyone who hears the words and feels better, even for a short time. We all have the need to be loved and too often we don’t tell others, even when we know it and feel it. Bless you and thank you for reminding me. By the way, not only do I love you, I love your mom and dad, very special people to me.

  3. Sweetheart, You are making me cry but I love you for it. I know your brother always reads this blog, and I don’t know if he will respond, but that mentioned time in our lives taught us all that things we hear or see are not always what they seem and you always need to tell the people you love and care about that you love them even with their imperfections. You never know what the future holds so always speak from the heart not only to the people who mean the most but also to those who need it the most!
    I love you sooooo much, and your Dad wants to respond to this too, and I told him I would show him how as he is so touched by the whole thing and also the artwork! xoxoxo Mom

    PS I was a lucky girl to met my warm and loving friend,Nancy M. ,50 some years ago at WMU and so happy she is still in my life and yours.

  4. Robyn (and Dave), We do love you guys and will miss you while we are away. I know you have lots of folks rooting for you but do know we are doing it with all our strength from just a bit farther away. Lexy

Leave a Reply

