Fight or Flight

ImageFight or flight?  If I am being honest (why stop now!), I am definitely more the “Ladies and gentlemen, this is your captain speaking.  The tower has cleared us for take off” type.  When the going gets tough, I get going.  I can overcome this innate instinct, face my anxieties, and hunker down for the fight, but I don’t like it.

My natural avian tendencies have not kicked in when you think they might have. When Dave was diagnosed, during both surgeries, and after the recurrence of tumors, I was a rock.  It is during other times that I find my mind wandering wondering how the weather might be in the south of France.

Those of you who know Dave well won’t be surprised to learn that his natural tendency is fight.  Fight, fight, fight.  This comes in handy when facing a daunting diagnosis like metastatic colon cancer.  However, it becomes a liability when asking your family how a home project is coming along.

Having two such opposing personalities can be a huge asset.  We balance each other out for the most part.  But we both struggle with it too.  This weekend Dave wasn’t feeling especially well.  His sister got married so he was determined to suck it up and have a good time.  This worked marvelously well when we were around other people.  But when we were alone, and he could let his hair down, so to speak, it was armageddon.  I believe most people are like this – you show your true emotions to your “safe” people.  So, I listened, TRIED not to take things personally, and kept my big mouth shut.  But it was hard.  So so hard.  And this morning I’ve been wondering how far I can get on a couple of tanks of gas….

xoxo

Robyn

7 thoughts on “Fight or Flight

  1. Keep your chin up Robyn. I am praying for you and please let me know if you want to take that road trip. I will drive and you can just enjoy the scenery. Any time, any where.

  2. “Mother said there there would be days like this” as the song goes…..but each of us just do not really know when we have finally reached our limits, do we? Just know that we are just minutes away any time you need a change of scenery and a gimongous hug! Also know that I am a pretty good fighter myself and will take one ANYONE that hurts my cubs! Usually, what comes out of a mouth isn’t really the crux of the matter, the trick is trying to figure out what that is…but honestly some days you need to go into protective mode and just don’t care enough to read between those lines! Hang in there,sweetie! Hopefully, this too will pass and if not just give me time to put on my war paint!!!!!

Leave a Reply

