What are YOU doing this weekend?

Things I Love:

My family

My friends

Laughing so hard that you cry

Deep hearty discussions

My job

The One by Dolce and Gabbana

A book so good you lose track of time

Basset Hounds

Things I Don’t Love:

Crickets – this is a full blown phobia

Mushrooms

Prejudice

Bills

Weird bumpy textures

Check engine lights

People who brag

Being pushed out of my bubble

This weekend we are heading off to our “Metastatic Colon Cancer Couples Retreat” which should have me facing the last item on my “Don’t Love” list head on.  I am dreading it.  Dreading.  But after a solid pep talk from my sister-in-law (and a pep email from my friend, lexy), I am going to try to be open in mind and heart.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

xoxo

Robyn

8 thoughts on “What are YOU doing this weekend?

  1. I know you do not want to attend this retreat for many reasons, who would really!. But Kris and Lexy are so right. It is going to be a good thing for both of you so that you can face the future with the least amount of anxiety and stress possible. Johns Hopkins has a wealth of knowledge to share so that you can have the tools you need. It will also allow you or others to ask questions and to get to know others on similar journeys. Remember, you have an Army of dear and loving friends and relatives wanting to wrap their arms around you and help in any way we can. Think of Johns Hopkins as part of that Army.

  2. I’m with you, Robyn. Even though counseling is my field, I don’t necessarily want to BE counseled. However, I have always benefited from these experiences (except once when a “group building” activity for my administrative team at Longfellow sort of made things worse!).
    Positive spin: you might get a bit of a break and have time to yourself as well as getting access to valuable resources. I’ll be thinking of you.
    Love, Nancy O

  3. Totally with you on the cricket thing. I HATE them – I don’t even like the sound of them far off in the yard.

    I’ll be thinking of you & Dave today and hoping that this weekend brings you everything you need.

Leave a Reply

