Grant

ImageThose of you who know Grant know that he is an amazing kid.  He is so smart and has a wicked sense of humor.  I am often blown away by his play on words or his thought processes.  However, this same quick tongue can also get him into trouble.  I am constantly telling him to “know your audience!”

Grant hasn’t shown much outward stress to Dave’s illness.  When Dave first sat him down and explained to him that he had cancer, that he would be having surgeries and chemo but that everything would be alright, Grant accepted it wholeheartedly.  In fact, he was so relaxed about the situation last year that he even took a little bit of advantage.

Dave’s liver surgery was in December, and I spent most of my time at the hospital.  The kids were left to themselves at different points, but they were all old enough to handle it and look out for each other.  One night I came home and watched Grant playing a video game.  I laughed and commented about one of the odd “lego headed” characters.  The next night, I came home and noticed the video game box.  It looked a lot like a game that I had bought for Grant and put away for Christmas.  Confused, I asked him why he asked for a game that he already had.  Well, long story short, he had helped himself to his Christmas present early and planned to just put it back before I noticed!

He’s too smart for his own good, but he has a mom who is pretty with it too.  This year I have a new hiding spot for gifts.

xoxo

Robyn

3 thoughts on “Grant

  1. lol, there’s the one reason I’m glad the girls still believe in Santa. we hide all the presents, already wrapped, and they stay hidden until Christmas Eve. Then the girls come down and see the pile under the tree and pull treats from their stockings – it’s such fun!

  2. Robyn – You got to love him. Such a cute story even if Grant did get got. Really it’s a story you’ll be able to tell his wife and kids someday with a BIG smile!!!!
    .

Leave a Reply

