Why Me? (or Why Us? or Why Dave?)

Yesterday, I read this story.  http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/obituaries/patti-varney-30-and-linda-woods-60-mother-and-daughter-die-of-cancer/2012/12/09/e1a2915a-3f12-11e2-a2d9-822f58ac9fd5_story_1.html  It is about a mother and daughter who were both unfortunate enough to contract cancer.  It is about how they supported each other and what they went through.  It is a very sad tale.  This line stuck out for me in the article 

“Once, the day before a chemo treatment, Patti reflected in a blog post on the misfortune of her diagnosis.

When I’m feeling sorry for myself, she wrote, instead of lamenting “why me?”, I’m trying to ask myself “why not me?” Who would I wish this on if it wasn’t me? (hint: the answer is no one.)”

I have had that exact same thought.  I guess the question is, why anyone?

xoxo

Robyn

 

One thought on “Why Me? (or Why Us? or Why Dave?)

  1. Robyn, I read that same story and thought of you all. I also thought of my dad and how he never questioned “why me?” He always said that better him than one of his children or grandchildren. You and Dave are both inspirations to those who know you. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

