Pillow Talk

I have this theory that I call “transference”.  It is likely not an original theory, and I imagine has a much better name out there in the world.  You know when you have a song stuck in your head and can’t shake it?  If you sing that song in front of someone else, and they start to sing it, it is no longer in your head (but quite likely in theirs).  The key is that the other person has to sing the song and lock it in.  I don’t know why it works, but it does.

I believe that transference also works with stress.  Last night as I was happily drifting off to sleep, Dave told me that he was feeling anxious about his cancer.  Apparently at this last blood test, his CEA level was up to 22.  I did not know this.  While I went with him to his last appointment, the results had not yet been posted.  At some point, Dave accessed his patient information and saw it.  His scan a few weeks ago was completely stable so I reminded him that information was much more useful than the blood test.  With that he was able to fall asleep.  Meanwhile, I lay up next to him trying to figure out the lyrics for “Fishing in the Dark” which is now completely stuck in my head.  So if I sing to you later…..

xoxo (and sleepily yours),

Robyn

6 thoughts on “Pillow Talk

  1. Hahaha! I have believed in your song transference theory for years – you must have told me it in ’85? Now my kids also use it. Unfortunately they use it to bug me with trashy songs!
    I suppose it is the same for stress. Sing to me (online!) all you like. I truly wish I could carry some of your burden for you my friend. xxx

Leave a Reply

