“Relax.”

ImagePerhaps the most annoying two syllables in the english language?  You are telling me to relax?  Do you know what is going on in my life right now?  No?  Okay, then hush.

After Dave’s appointment this morning, I attempted to drop off Sammi’s MRI CD at the orthopedist’s office.  They wouldn’t take it.  They wouldn’t talk to me because now Sammi is 18.  Frustrating but I tried to be understanding.  I asked if I could just leave it and perhaps the doctor could take a look and let us know if there was anything we needed to do before my child heads off for three weeks.  Nope.  Eventually after some sighs of annoyance and a few glares, the receptionist went back asked the doctor if there was anything they could do.  Because they “know me”, they gave me a wink and a nod and said “we saw something on the scan but Samantha should be fine to head off on vacation as long as she wears the splint.”  As I was leaving, the receptionist told me to “relax”.  I kept walking.  Had I turned around, I might have thrown something at her.

Dave’s appointment went fine.  We now have a new plan of action.  I feel like it is aggressive which I like.  He is going to start on a third line treatment called Vectibix.  It is infused for an hour every other week.  Many of the side effects should be more manageable than those he is currently experiencing.  There is a dreaded side effect that involves a skin rash, but I am hopeful this will be minimal.  In addition to the Vectibix, Dave will also go in on Monday to meet with a radiation oncologist to discuss Y90.  Y90 is a procedure in which they inject microspheres that find their way to the liver to radiate the tumors.  (Okay, obviously I didn’t go to medical school but this is my basic understanding of the procedure!)  For me, it is a relief that we have two ways to attack the cancer right now.

Tomorrow is graduation.  And then All Night Grad Party.  I will be there from midnight to 5AM, if you are looking for me.

xoxo

Robyn

2 thoughts on ““Relax.”

  1. Even without everything else that you are dealing with, it’s not easy to relax when it’s your child and you want to know if they’re OK. You did well not to slap her, I’d say!
    Enjoy the Samantha’s graduation and party (wow, that’s a PARTY!) and be sure to post some photos.
    Love to you all. x

Leave a Reply

