Friends

Image

I got a package in the mail today from my friend, Lori.  She read my blog post “Have You?” and decided that she could take something off my list for me.  So, this caring, generous soul took time out of her hectic life (can you say 3 kids – 2 are twins!) and found some products that might help Dave feel better during his Y90 treatment and new chemo.  I have been blessed with Lori’s kindnesses before and am in awe of her.

On Monday, I spent a lovely couple of hours noshing on yummy chicken schwarma and falafel and catching up with my friend, Raba.  We had so much to talk about and shared and laughed and had the best time.  It was exactly what I needed.

Around 1:00 Tuesday afternoon, I got a text from my friend Heather’s husband wondering if she was with me.  We met at 10:30 for coffee so I think he was surprised that we were still together.  Michele and Heather and our Tuesday morning coffee dates have kept me sane this year.  We have gotten each other through the trauma of college applications and acceptances and soon the girls’ departures.  They have listened to me ramble on and on about a variety of topics and always bolster my spirits and remind me that I am not crazy when sometimes I think I might be.

Then there is my friend, Alex.  Alex and I have talked each other off of the ledge many times during our decades of friendship.  She is so good at problem solving, puts things into perspective, gives me her honest opinion, and she’s funny as hell.  What more could you need in a friend?

I should also mention the amazing women who I get to sit by the pool with each summer during swim season.  They are thoughtful, knowledgeable women who are willing to share their experiences and ideas.  I look forward to swim season because I know I will learn so much.  On Wednesday morning, they gave me TONS of ideas about what Samantha should take to school with her.  I love having this group in my friend village.

These are just the friends that touched my life in the last couple of days.  (You might be thinking “Robyn sure has a lot of time to sit around and gab with friends”.  This week I definitely made it a priority!)  I have this amazing community of women that I have known since childhood, high school, college, Gymboree, teaching, met through my kids, met through other friends, met through Dave.  Some I see or keep in touch with more regularly than others.  But no matter how often I see them or talk to them, I am so grateful to have them in my life.  I know that at any moment I can call out and they will be there.  Probably with coffee. and cookies.

xoxo

Robyn

Image

2 thoughts on “Friends

  1. You are very blessed to have an Army of beautiful friends. They too are equally blessed to know you as well as I as there is not a better friend on this earth!
    Love you, sweetie!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

