Clearing the Air

Image

If you are reading this, then you are from one of two groups.  The first group, made up of friends and family, was invited to share our journey via this blog.  The second group stumbled upon this website through fate and decided to stick around.  Either way, I am glad that you find our story interesting or helpful.  There is another group who is not included, my three kids.  They are not aware of this blog and don’t have the address because I don’t believe this is the appropriate vehicle for them to gain information.

This blog started off as a cancer blog – a way for me to share information with a group of people in an efficient way.  Somewhere along the line, it became more of a life blog.  It is like living with cancer in that there is lots of real life with cancer interwoven throughout.  Just as life can’t be 100% about cancer, neither can this blog.

Although cancer permeates our world and effects all of us, the cancer story is about Dave.  It is not ultimately about me or the kids.  So this blog has become my space, a safe place to reflect, share and sometimes just ramble.  I don’t think that I should have to justify my thoughts or writing, but in this case, I will.

A little while back I wrote a blog post titled “Learning Curve”.  It has come to my attention that a couple of concerns were raised about what I wrote.  So, I would like to first of all say that in no way was it my intention to paint Dave in a negative light.  I have reread my posting (and had others do the same), and I still don’t think that I did.  Dave and I simply do not agree on this issue.  As is true in all relationships, there are people or ideas on which we can’t see eye to eye.  My purpose was to take all of the negative feelings of hurt, anger, and frustration and dump them out once and for all.  So that is what I did.  This person is no longer a part of my thoughts and life.  It was something that I felt that I needed to do in order to move forward in a positive way for myself and my family.

If you would prefer to only read about health updates, I always categorize those stories as “Updates”.  You can click on the link on the right side menu to only read those postings, if you prefer.

I hope this has cleared up any concerns.  If not, please feel free to message me and share your opinions directly.  I would appreciate the opportunity to hear your thoughts.

xoxo

Robyn

8 thoughts on “Clearing the Air

  1. I have always thought that this was your personal blog and therefore a place for you to share, vent & dump or simply express yourself – and as such, a necessity! We all need a way to do this at the best of times, never mind when you are dealing with cancer (and yes, you are both dealing with it), so it’s completely understandable that you do so here, and I think you do so with incredible dignity. I’m sorry you have to explain and justify your feelings. Please don’t let this reign in your thoughts. You need this outlet.

    Much love to you,
    Nicola xxx

  2. After writing and promoting my blog for over a year now, I have had my share of people who just don’t see things the way I intended them, and just can’t possibly see them from my point of view. I make an initial attempt to reword what I’ve written, and if they continue to argue and miss the point, then I’ve done what I can. Some people just won’t ever get it. And it’s not your responsibility to twist yourself in knots trying to make them feel more comfortable. I don’t think “Learning Curve” painted Dave in ANY kind of light – it was totally about *your* personal way of thinking, trying to make everyone else happy, and coming to the realization that wasn’t always possible.
    Use your blog for what *you* need. There are more of us who support you than will tear you down.

    • thank you, lori. to be fair, i haven’t actually heard a negative word. i am just hearing through the grapevine concerns about 1) my parenting decisions 2) venting in a “public” way and 3) painting dave in a less than positive way. since all three assumptions were so grossly misguided, i felt that i did have to explain further. i don’t plan on doing it again. : )

  3. You feel free to dump what you like in here Robyn – it’s your blog! Ignore the naysayers. I think you write beautifully – with both honesty and eloquence so as Nicky says above…don’t feel hamstrung by others. Chin up darl, illegitimi non carborundum….:) A x

  4. Robyn,
    I’m just catching up on several entries, and my reaction is F*** ’em…pardon my French.I feel incredibly grateful that you have been willing to let me have access to your words and I do NOT ever want to think that others are judging you or making you feel that you have made a mistake by sharing your honest thoughts about this journey you are on. You use this blog
    to say whatever you need to say without censor. I count you among one of the most fair and honest people I know, and I do not feel you have denigrated my dear friend Dave by
    disagreeing with him. While I can’t possibly know what it is like to walk in your shoes, I can
    Identify feelings and reactions to situations that you so beautifully write about that either I totally concur with, and others that present a different or new point of view that. Makes me think. Either way, I thank you you for giving me the opportunity to read it.
    Don’t change a thing.
    👍Nancy Oliver

Leave a Reply

