Reflecting on 2013

Salario-minimo-vital-y-movil-2013-2014I woke up this morning with a blistering headache.  One of those “every inch of my head is pounding and I think I’m going to throw up” types of headaches.  A few Advil, a few Tylenol, some ginger cookies and a cup of coffee later, I am feeling like a brand new person.  As I was laying on the couch thinking this didn’t seem to be the best start to the new year, I also was thinking about the events of 2013 and what I learned over the year.

WordPress sends me an end of the year synopsis.  I learned that I had people check in from 61 different countries in 2013.  I discovered that my friends like a little drama – my most read post was where I was unapologetic for my description of an old friend of Dave’s and I set the record straight on some assumptions https://embracingtherollercoaster.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/clearing-the-air.  The second most read post was where I gave my brutally honest opinion of the friend in the first place https://embracingtherollercoaster.wordpress.com/2013/08/25/learning-curve.

I don’t really believe in New Year’s resolutions.  Maybe because I haven’t really stuck to them in the past, so why set myself up for failure right at the beginning of the year?  I do believe it is good time to reflect on what you learned the previous year and think about the moments that made you proud or what you might change if you had a do over.  There are a couple of ideas that I accepted as truths that have made my life so much easier.  I find that I am much less frustrated or judgmental when I keep these things in mind.  People are who they are and based on that they are doing the best that they can.  Do I always agree with them?  Of course not.  When I accepted that I can only control my actions/responses/emotions and have very little chance of changing someone else’s, it felt less stressful.  The tenet that I have added to those is it is better to be kind, than right.  Why argue a point to death only to have the other person walk away feeling defeated or down?  Often times this means keeping my mouth shut.  You can imagine that this has been a personal challenge!  This shift in mindset is definitely still a work in progress but awareness has made a monumental difference.

I am a little anxious about this upcoming year but am also hopeful for all of the possibilities. I look forward to continuing this journey with you and appreciate you coming along for the ride.  It means so much to know that people care about our story.

xoxo,

Robyn

 

One thought on “Reflecting on 2013

  1. I’m a little late here, but I wish you all a happy year and of course the healthiest possible. Love to you all. xxx

    PS I love your feistiness and admire this new tenet (which I am going to try too)!

Leave a Reply

