Stream of Consciousness

go to get a towel before shower

smattering of hand towels/washcloths available 

Grant.

ugh

probably has a giant stack of mildewing towels in his room

picking your battles

homework

parenting challenges

school

challenging students

This story.

Classes are usually held in the STEM Lab, but there are times during the year that I need to push into classrooms due to testing.  Last spring, I was in a fifth grade class teaching a lesson on flight.  I really enjoy working with this particular classroom teacher because I think she does an outstanding job.  Her teaching style seems effortless and yet she has the highest of expectations for behavior and achievement.

While I was working my way around the room helping small groups, one of the girls noticed that the side of my foot was bleeding a little bit.  Since I was wearing sandals, I had probably scraped it on something and didn’t notice.  One of the boys (I’ll call him A), who can be a bit of a handful, was struggling with frustration.  I thought I would give him a minute to escape the project to regroup a little so I asked him to get me a bandaid.  Without another thought, I returned to helping a student.  A minute later, I heard a loud, shrill “A! WHAT ARE YOU DOING?” coming from the classroom teacher.  I turned to see that A had donned a pair of rubber gloves and a paper mask and was victoriously holding a maxi pad high above his head.  I died.  It was one of the funniest things I have ever seen.  The girls were mortified.  The boys were equal parts amused/horrified/curious.  Now I know that laughter is probably not the appropriate teacher response in this kind of situation, but I had to admire the kid’s efforts with all the protective gear.  The classroom teacher and I made eye contact, and I grinned at her sheepishly.  “I feel like this is partly my fault.  I’m sorry.”  Having never taught upper elementary, I didn’t realize they even had those supplies in the classroom.  And I certainly never thought a bandaid mission would cause such a stir.  A is a sixth grader this year and I still have a soft spot for that kid.  Probably one of the funniest teaching moments I have ever had.  

xoxo,

Robyn

One thought on “Stream of Consciousness

  1. you have to admire someone who can sport a great sense of humor that doesn’t rely on making fun of others. kudos to you and A! that’s funny, I don’t care who you are!

Leave a Reply

