Months.

Image

 

“We’re talking months.  Maybe three.  Maybe more.  But I don’t think the end of the year.” –Dr. S.

You probably deduced by the silence here that Dave’s scan results weren’t good.  In fact, his doctor declared them “really bad”.  I could not have been more floored.  Even after reading the scan report, it was hard for me to accept what he was saying.  I could read on the report that his tumors were growing, but they have been growing for some time now.  What makes this growth more dire than previously reported?  Dr. S’s tone and message were very different this time.

In quiet moments, doubts or maybe reality creeps in – Dave won’t be here to walk his daughters down the aisle.  He won’t see what his kids grow up to be.  He won’t be here to dispense his goofy, one of kind, fun style of parenting.  There have been a lot of tears.  But not around the children.  We have not told them anything yet.  So, if you (or your kids) have contact with mine, please keep this between us for now.  We want them to get through the end of the school year before we rock their worlds.  And even then we don’t want to start some countdown of calendar watching.

I told Dave that I will believe it when I see it.  These are just numbers.  Numbers which I fully expect him to blow out of the water.  After all, we don’t know what tomorrow can bring.  Dave’s doctor reached out to his doctor at Hopkins who asked him to come up and see her on Monday.  So, we will see what additional options might be out there and if they are at all palatable.  In the meantime, we will just live our lives the best that we can.  Dave is definitely tired but he also has the energy to get out and have some fun.  He’s hoping for a trip with the Tremaine men to Chicago, and we’d like to take a family trip when school gets out.

One day at a time.

xoxo,

Robyn

 

 

26 thoughts on “Months.

  1. Oh Robyn…I’m sitting here not knowing what to say but feeling the weight of what you just wrote. I’m praying for you and Dave.

    Sent from my iPod

  2. Hey, I’m coming there for Father’s Day . That’s the way I see things, yes they say time, but the human spirit can often negate their timetable. Dave will show them months!! Live you my fabulous cousin/sister!!

  3. I love your writing and your amazing insight Robyn – you have such strength, it is clear to read from this distance. Dave sounds like the kind of guy who will defy the odds and with you alongside him, he has every chance of doing so. I think of you often back here in Stamford – a world away but still connected. Look after you over these coming weeks. A xx

  4. Robyn I am so sorry to hear of the news. The will to live is a powerful thing and we know that God works miracles. We will keep you all in our prayers. Please let me know if there is anything I can do for your.

  5. Oh Robyn, I’m so sorry!! I don’t know what to say but please, please know we are thinking about you. If there is EVER anything we can do please DO NOT hesitate to knock on our door. If anyone can overcome this I know it’s Dave but I doubt that’s little comfort coming from me.

  6. I believe that Dave can defy the odds and defeat this – you have been so positive up to now and I hope you can find the strength to continue to be. Sending love your way and prayers upwards. As Annie says, we may be a long way away, but you will always have our love and support. xxx

  7. Thinking of all of you. And sending you all the strength I can muster for the road ahead. You are strong and will have so many helping hands at the ready for you all when you need them. Big, big, big hugs to you.

  8. Robyn–
    We’ve watched your strength grow in the face of adversity and how you’ve imparted that strength to your children. We think of you all every day and can only hope that Dave is the wonder patient about whom they’ll be writing case studies for the next 20 years.
    Len & Karen Blado

Leave a Reply

