The Power of Words

Image 2In an effort to not spend today feeling sorry for Dave, myself and the kids, I have been reading the many comments that have been left here, on Laura’s blog, on the FB page and in texts and emails. Our support network is amazing – friends, family, and people we have never met all generously sharing their thoughts. I wanted to share a few that represent our incredible, uplifting community.  Thank you for your words.

*Also, please let Dave know I’m on a personal mission to match his orange style.  I’m on day 18 in a row of wearing something orange.  I’m thinking of changing my title to “Orange Ambassador.”

*Dave, Here are my top ten favorite moments with you: #1 During a home football game at the Church, going over to yell at the boys in the stands with no shirts on who were painted green and raising hell and realizing you were right in the middle leading the chant.

*Your conversation about the kids really struck me. Since we all process things through the lens of our own experience, your posts about the children always stand out for me. Especially Parker, since I was her age when my dad was battling throat cancer.

*I want to send a word of encouragement to you and your family and thank you for sharing your story. You’ve touched my life with your honest reflections.

*Mr. Tremaine, on behalf of the students and faculty at Hayfield Secondary, thank you for being the change this school has been longing for. Your vibrant personality is contagious and has spread school spirit throughout the community. We admire your outrageous, Hayfield-themed wardrobe and your off key vocals when singing the fight song.

*Finally, please don’t hold back any tears while reading this. Nothing is wrong with letting it out because that’s what you do when you are a passenger on a roller coaster, you embrace the scariest moment by screaming at the top of your lungs.

*Got to love a man who loves orange and wears it so well!. Fight the fight Dave, we have your back! Hayfield Strong, Tremaine Strong!

*While I’m sure that it’s very important that I can still name all of the characteristics of the various biomes (Permafrost! The cookies crumble when you try to “drill” for the chocolate chips!), the lessons in confidence and compassion are what has stuck with me.  While windmill high fives don’t quite have the same impact when you’re only 5’4, I try to instill the same confidence in the students I work with.

*So many of Robyn’s comments are things that my family has been discussing. My heart is with Dave, Robyn, and their children – and all of those who love their family. I will be thinking of all of you and praying for comfort and peacefulness. And, please thank Robyn for sharing, if for no other reason than to let others know that they are not alone going through this isolating disease.

*Oh, my… In my real life, I administrate the standards by which accredited cancer care programs operate. THIS story; THIS patient; THIS man, husband, father, son, friend, and brother is THE reason I do what I do. I always wish I could do more.

*I hear that Dave’s going to cash in all the hug requests so here’s mine. Bob – give the Big Galoot a hug from me. Stretch – while she’s hugging you throw your tongue in her ear just to gross her out.

xoxo,

Robyn

7 thoughts on “The Power of Words

  1. Robyn,
    Dave has ALMOST GOT ME TO LOVE ORANGE without thinking of Clemson! I do wear my Hayfield Orange with Pride! As I do my Jackass & Kentucky Derby Shirts!

  2. Robin, I miss Dave and his personality daily,, he was so good for me! I have a difficult time understanding why my cancer and his cancer are so different. I pray for Dave, you and the children every chance I get ! I do not know how you hold it together! Please stay as strong as you possibly can and remember that everything happens for a reason, reasons we will not know until later! God be with you and Dave in a very difficult time!

    Chuck Arnone

  3. Robyn,

    I’m one of the students at Hayfield, and I’ve got to say that Mr.Tremaine truly makes my day there. When I first moved to the school years ago, I saw him and he just really knows how to make people in a room so HAPPY! It calmed me down, and I started my 8th grade year with confidence rather than with nerves. I send my prayers to your family and thank you for keeping this blog going. It’s gonna be hard not seeing him around at school, but he’s been so supportive and loving of us (and me) for years and now it’s our time time to pay it back. If you wouldn’t mind, could you give him a hug for me to? He knows it already, but the rising senior class misses him a lot. But we’ll keep that Mr.T-orange-pride going!

    Thanks 🙂

    P.S. I won’t share the link to the blog with classmates.

  4. I worked with Dave when he was the middle school principal at Lake Braddock. He is definitely just as wonderful as all these Blog replies and Facebook comments indicate. His spirit and enthusiasm for the school and all of the students and staff as well as his genuine kindness have always made him special!

    Hugs and prayers for all of you!

    Barb Hanner

  5. Please give Dave a hug from me as well and go ahead and give him a wet willy while you’re there! I too am going to embrace my inner ORANGE and wear it in pride!

Leave a Reply

