Public Service Announcement

10449470_631964000244281_4276463405502751076_n

If we are Facebook friends, you have already had to endure this lecture.  You are excused from reading today’s post.  : )

I posted a photo of my new car magnet on my Facebook page.  Afterwards, I got comments from friends who were interested in ordering them too.  So I offered to be the link between them and Bonnie, the student who is doing the fundraiser.  Within hours, I had requests for 39 magnets and 25 bracelets.  It is amazing how many people want to support Dave.  Well, all of us really.

When I started to think about it, I decided we could have a greater impact if we all SAID SOMETHING.  This is what I posted –

“here is my request – once you have your bracelet/magnet, people might ask you about it.  after you tell them about how amazing dave was, remind them about getting screened.  dave was 46 at age of diagnosis (too young for routine screening), healthy, exercised daily, ate right, and had no family history.  by the time he started having symptoms, he was stage IV.  maybe together we can help someone.”

Wouldn’t that be amazing?  If we could make a difference?  Spread the word!

xoxo,

Robyn

6 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement

  1. Robyn, I couldn’t agree more. As someone who has had U C since being teenager, I know that what Dave had is known as the silent killer of men, and ovarian cancer is the silent killer if women.
    I also know from talking to him that as soon as he had symptoms he contacted me for a name of my Dr and was seen ASAP. The trouble is these tumors can exist for ten years before becoming something that can take your life and you will not even know it is there hence the importance of screening. Unfortunately for Dave he wasn’t old enough for the routine screening.
    When I was emailing people of Dave’s passing, I ended each email by requesting that if they had not been screened, they owed it to themselves and their loved ones to do so as it could possibly saves their lives and keep their families from going through the “roller coaster ride” you all had been on these past three years.
    If we can just save one person’s life it is worth being on our soapbox lecture circuit. I have a colonoscopy every 18 months because of my history and as much as I hate the “prep” I know in my heart that one of the many polyps that have been removed over the years could very well have kept me from enjoying my life,family, friends and grandchildren all these years so I do it because it truely matters!
    Love, Mom

  2. Wearing my bracelet and spreading the word. Now for my PSA…I do have a family history, so at 35 I had my first colonoscopy. 4 polyps were found with no symptoms – 1 being the type with the possibility to develop into cancer if left untouched. Had I waited until “recommended screening age” the results certainly could have been different. Ten years later, my follow-ups have been clear. I always tell people the prep is the worst part. Though they have made some improvements in that area. The actual procedure is not bad at all. If you have a family history, speak with your doctor about early screening. I wish the recommended age for screening would be dropped to at least 45, but 40 would be even better.

  3. Good morning, I was a student at hayfield and didn’t get the chance to purchase before can you let me know how to purchase some bracelets ?

Leave a Reply

