Day 5 – Running Away

My stress level hit about a 9 out of 10 yesterday. Some of it caused by things that I need to take care of and others are things that are out of my control. Because I am determined to focus on the positives as I move through these challenging days, I will skip the laundry list of stressors and instead count my blessings.

1. We get to run away to the beach and bask in the sun with our toes in the ocean.
2. My generous and big-hearted parents are dog sitting Winnie, our 2 year old basset hound, so that he doesn’t have to be alone or in a cage somewhere. He has the worst type of mast cell disease and is on limited time.
3. I am thankful that we have trusty and reliable pet sitters who will take of our other basset, Cupcake, along with the fish and Christopher the guinea pig.
4. I am grateful to Eric, my other son, who will take care of late night Cupcake care and feed/water the rest of the herd (2 tortoises, 2 snakes, 1 leopard gecko and 1 bearded dragon). Have I mentioned that I had a hard time saying no to Dave when he wanted to bring home another pet?

Let the stress quiet down so that I can enjoy these waning summer days with my kiddos. Sam returns to school on the 23rd. We need this time together to relax and gear up for the fall days ahead.

xoxo,
Robyn

IMG_1257

2 thoughts on “Day 5 – Running Away

  1. Winnie and Cupcake photos are always so cute. It sounds like the whole crew will be well taken care of. I am sorry you had such a stressful day. I hope some relaxing days at the beach will help. It surely always soothes my soul to be by the ocean. I am praying for Sam (and all of you!) as she prepares to head back to college.

  2. Robyn – enjoy your beach trip…it’s the BEST place to be. I also wanted to let you know that if Sam ever needs a ride to and/or from school, my daughter goes there too. Please email me with any and all requests. 🙂 My daughter, Taylor, was so lucky to be the first graduating class that Dave presided over at Hayfield in 2011 and he made such an impression on her and her classmates. Every time she came back to Hayfield, he always took the time to stop and chat with her about college. He was SO proud of Sam when she graduated from high school and was going on to college. One evening after a PTA mtg, he saw the college shirt I was wearing and proudly said that Sam was going there. Proud Papa, for sure!
    So, anyway, the ride is always there or anything else she might need at school, Taylor’s door is always open at the campus. 🙂

Leave a Reply

