Here We Are 10 Weeks Later….

I have been thinking about Dave A LOT. I made it through our anniversary and my birthday better than I would have imagined, but I think it is not going to be the big occasions that trip me up as much as the day to day occurrences or the unexpected memories.

Sam went back to start her sophomore year at CNU on Saturday. She wanted us to come with her so we loaded up her car, and Parker and I followed her and Grant down 95. Parker was very tired and was snoozing during the 7AM journey so I had lots of quiet time to think. I was overcome by memories of dropping Sam off her freshman year – funny bathroom centered events, having lunch together before we left, the nervousness, the anticipation. Dave being the total dad and offering to take her to get running shoes, and groceries and anything else he could think of. And it made me both sad and grateful. Sad that was our only chance to drop off a kid at college together. Grateful that we had that chance at all.

Speaking of grateful, I am thrilled that our little fundraising effort is growing daily. Thank you to everyone who has donated so far and has spread the word to others. A friend of Dave’s from his tennis playing days wrote the most beautiful message on the page. Tear inducing in its accuracy. A gift in itself. Also, a special thank you to the man who thought Dave would be just the right match for Hayfield, Dr. Scott Brabrand. Thank you for giving him his dream job and for continuing to support him today. I am forever in your debt.

Also, as a housekeeping note, I was supposed to send out a Save the Date for Dave’s party but haven’t quite gotten around to it yet. I am excited to celebrate and honor Dave’s life with everyone on Friday, November 21st at 7:30. Because of the permits and insurance that I have to take out in order to be able to rent The Torpedo Factory, it will be a 21 and older event (with the exception of children in our immediate family). I had some inquiries as to whether students could attend and sadly the answer is not for this event. However, Dave’s family and the kids and I are working with the school and planning a dedication event at Hayfield for the spring and all students will be invited to join us and celebrate and honor Mr. T! Thank you for understanding.

Now let’s see if we can make our fundraising goal by then. Spread the word!

xoxo,
Robyn

photo

Leave a Reply

