5 Things – 11 Weeks Later

1.  I have managed to keep all the animals alive and kicking. The extreme algae situation in the fish tank is finally under control. Remember when I said that crickets were the line I wouldn’t cross? I lied. I have been feeding your bearded dragon 25 large crickets every 3-4 days. It’s totally gross, but I do it. The vet says that Winnie is on “limited time” so we are doing everything to keep him comfortable and happy. I have been telling Parker that I like to think that when he goes, he will somehow end up with you. After all, he was your boy.

photo

2.  PopPop has been doing lots of driving with Grant. I have been doing some too, but I have to admit that I liked it better when you were in charge of the permit to license phase. You were always more patient and calm with this kind of stuff.

3.  I have been carrying your wallet and watch in my purse since the hospital. I changed purses this weekend and slipped only your watch into the side pocket. It is comforting to me to have a little reminder of you with me all the time. I left your wallet in my old purse. Baby steps.

4.  Sometimes I start to think about you, and I force my mind to shift to something else. 11 weeks is a long time, and you are starting to feel so very far away. There are times that I can’t let the memories come because it is too hard and makes me sad. I miss you every day, and I still can’t believe I won’t be able to feel the comfort of your arms around me or see your grinning face looking at me.  I’d even take a spat over something stupid just to have another minute with you.

5.  I am trying to stay positive and look for the good every day. Some days are easier than others but so far I think I have been able to find something to be grateful for each and every day.  I hear your voice in my head cheering me on and reminding me that it’s going to be okay.

I love you and miss you so much.

xoxo,
Robyn

8 thoughts on “5 Things – 11 Weeks Later

  1. I can tell you that his presence is deeply missed at Hayfield however, his positive influence and energy is still quite evident in the halls as we start to opoen another year of school. I know that deep in our hearts, Dave is watching over his Hawks and making sure that we will continue to soar high and to reach our greatest heights. As always, thoughts and prayers to you and the family. We are here for you when you need us.

  2. We will be spreading some ashes in Colorado Springs to honor the places he loved there. Still can’t believe he is gone but never ever forgotten. Love, Ann

Leave a Reply

