Day 18 – Finding Good

photo

Thanks to the generosity of my friend Lori’s friend Heather, I spent Saturday with my friend, Pam, at the Virginia Tech/William & Mary game. We had a great time catching up during the drive to Blacksburg. Before heading to the stadium, we met up with my friend Tracie’s daughter who is a sophomore at Tech this year. As we stood in front of the bookstore, the ROTC cadets marched by which was an impressive sight indeed! There were young men and women marching in unison coming from different directions as far as the eye could see.

During the game, when Tech scored, the fans around us were all high 5ing each other. The guy in front of me turned to me with both hands up in the air. I shook my head no and smiled. He wouldn’t take that for an answer and said, “C’mon. High 5 me!” I didn’t want to be a poor sport so I went along with it. The guy next to him excitedly put his hands up for a high 5 too. The third guy looked at me like he smelled bad cheese and said, “Did you go to William & Mary?” Haha! It was a totally different experience to watch a game at a school where football is a BIG deal. The energy of the crowd was lively and fun, the marching band was entertaining, and there were even girls twirling batons of fire. You don’t see that at Zable Stadium.

On the drive home I mentioned to Pam that on any road trip, Dave always wanted to eat at Cracker Barrel. So in his honor, we made a late night stop. The good news is that I got a jump start on my holiday shopping.

photo photo

Yes, that is a candy corn scented candle.

 

When I got home, I checked the fundraising page to discover this –

Image

I don’t know if I will ever stop being in awe of the kindness and generosity of others. This is a gesture that I will surely remember for the rest of my life.

On Sunday, we did some tidying up around the house, animal maintenance and bill paying. I reached into the pocket of a purse looking for something and discovered $80. I have no idea how it got in there but what a nice surprise! A few of those $20s ended up “filling the boot” as our local firefighters were out in force this weekend.

Yesterday as Parker and I were running errands, I was feeling a little melancholy. It was Monday. It was around 1:30PM. I was looking towards the sky secretly hoping for some kind of little sign. The stereo was shuffling songs from my phone when this came on –

photo

This won’t really mean anything to anyone except the five of us, but it was definitely a little wink…. “Jodie quit. Jodie got married.”

xoxo,
Robyn

PS Here’s the link one more time just in case you are interested.
http://www.youcaring.com/nonprofits/please-help-us-continue-david-s-great-work-/215332

Leave a Reply

