Day 19 – Winnie

We said goodbye to our Winnie last night. To say that this is insult to injury would be a massive understatement. Having witnessed the last days and hours of Dave’s life, this wasn’t in the same ballpark, but I am crushed for the kids. They should not have to go through this right now. No matter how I sugar coat it with talk of Winnie going to be with Dave, it doesn’t change the fact that this just flat out stinks.

In my effort to focus on the positives I want to say that I have incredibly strong and brave kids who made the right decision for Winnie even though that meant heartbreak for themselves.

Winnie, go be with Dad. You were a sweet, sweet dog.

xoxo,

Robyn

IMG_0388

19 thoughts on “Day 19 – Winnie

  1. This just sucks…..Oh Robyn….How horrible for you all…..at some point God needs to please give you a break….I am so sorry for this second loss in your life…..Lots of Love, Lisa

  2. Robyn, I am so sorry you and the kids are going through another loss. Please know that I am thinking of you all and wishing I could just give you a hug.

  3. No overly enlightening words…only this visual…picture this…I know that Dave met him on Rainbow Bridge — this is where our pets wait for us (our vet told me this!), but in this case Dave was waiting for Winnie. I’ll bet they’re off romping in a field filled with orange flowers right about now…and my Nana Gallo will make them a nice bowl of pasta tonight. Sending love and hugs to you all…xoxoxo

  4. I am so sorry for the loss of your fur baby, Winnie. I am sending you big hugs that are big enough to reach all the way down to CNU.

  5. Oh, Robin, my heart breaks for you and your kids all over again. Your pup was so lucky; you were a loving owner until the end. Even though you don’t know me, from one dog owner to another, love and virtual hugs are sent to you and your kids….

  6. Making the right decision even when it’s heartbreaking…that, indeed, shows the depth of your children’s maturity as well as your and Dave’s influence on their lives. We love our dogs – my heart goes out to you all.

  7. Just caught up on your last few blog entries and I’m so sorry to hear you lost Winnie. Am sending a a big virtual/mental hug your way.

Leave a Reply

