Perspective

I saw this article posted on Facebook and scrolled by it several times.  Last night, for whatever reason, I clicked on the link.  At first when I started reading, the story sounded too familiar.  The wife was diagnosed with cancer after it was “too late”.  Then crazily enough their dog also died in the midst of everything.  I thought it was amazing how similar our lives sounded.

The more I read, the more I realized that our journeys were so very different.  Thankfully.  For us.  I have struggled with and continue to struggle with the fact that Dave was doing okay one day and then gone a week later.  I have not been able to make sense of it.  I picture him in those last days, and my heart breaks all over again.  I see pictures from this time last year and shake my head in disbelief.

But what this family went through for a significant amount of time was so devastating.  I cannot even begin to imagine.  I didn’t want Dave to suffer.  I didn’t want the kids to see him do so.  I know in my head that I should be grateful, and I am as grateful as anyone can be with an outcome they were desperate to change.

The point of the article is about friendship, and while I appreciated that part, it was so much more to me.  It was a perspective I probably needed to read.  It doesn’t miraculously change my feelings, but it does serve as a powerful reminder of what could have been.

(Warning:  Details in this essay are pretty graphic.)

http://www.esquire.com/lifestyle/a34905/matthew-teague-wife-cancer-essay/

xoxo,

Robyn

6 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. I’ve had 24 hours to digest this essay and can’t stop thinking about it. I had no idea just how horrendous the side effects of illness can be.

  2. Robyn – Couldn’t bring myself to read the article. What I want to say is you and your family have been working through so much this past year. The out come of what happened to Dave just doesn’t seem fair. He was a good person, a great husband and a super dad. I’m sure he would of been very proud of all you have done together this past year. Cancer is such a unfair disease and no one and no one else’s family should ever have to deal with all this heart break. You are always in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

