The Longest Fastest Year

I have learned and experienced a lot in this past year.  But for today, I will let other peoples’ words speak for me through Dave’s favorite art form, the musical.

You always said how lucky you were that we were all friends. But it was us, baby, who were the lucky ones.  (RENT)

I’ve heard it said
That people come into our lives for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
And we are led
To those who help us most, to grow
If we let them
And we help them in return
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
But I know I’m who I am today
Because I knew you…

(WICKED)

FullSizeRender.

xoxo,

Robyn

31 thoughts on “The Longest Fastest Year

  1. There are places I remember
    All my life though some have changed
    Some forever not for better
    Some have gone and some remain
    All these places have their moments
    With lovers and friends I still can recall
    Some are dead and some are living
    In my life I’ve loved them all

    But of all these friends and lovers
    There is no one compares with you
    And these memories lose their meaning
    When I think of love as something new
    Though I know I’ll never lose affection
    For people and things that went before
    I know I’ll often stop and think about them
    In my life I love you more

    Though I know I’ll never lose affection
    For people and things that went before
    I know I’ll often stop and think about them
    In my life I love you more

    In my life I love you more

    ….John, Paul, George, and Ringo ❤

  2. Thinking of you and the entire Tremaine family today. May the healing continue and the peace become more constant. Lots of love, Karen Harris xo

  3. Robyn — thought about you when I woke up this morning. Know it will be a hard day. Many prayers are being lifted up for you and the entire family today.

  4. Robyn, Samantha, Grant, and Parker, We love you all and know however you decide to spend the day that Dave will be there celebrating your triumphs as you celebrate his life. Love Always, Mom and Dad ,Grammy and PopPop

  5. Robyn
    There isn’t a day that goes by that David Tremaine’s presence is not missed by someone . The sense of community at Hayfield is absent because he is no longer the guiding force. That is just a fact that we all share , and it is more glaring now than it was before. We are all Tremaine strong today; our thoughts are with you and your family for now and always .

  6. Robyn – Like so many friends have said before me we’re all thinking of you and your family today. Always here for you my friend.

  7. Dear Robyn,
    You, Samantha, Grant, and Parker are in my heart…I am sending many prayers your way as well… You have not been too far out of my thoughts during my long absence….Thank you once again for your email…I look forward to catching up on your posts very soon..Stay well, take care and Thank you for still sharing with your online friends….Love, Lisa….

  8. Robyn — I hope that you will find some comfort in knowing that you are not alone in your thoughts… that the emptiness in your heart is one that we all share in some small way… and someday, it we add our memories together, that emptiness can be replaced with more joy and less hurt. I guess that’s the wonderful thing about memories, you don’t have to leave them behind as you move forward… love you sis

  9. Hi Mrs. Tremaine,
    A few weeks ago, I wrote a poem for my Creative Writing class. It was titled “Admiration”, and in it I wrote about my role models who have died or moved away. I’ve included the part about Mr. T below, and I hope it conveys how much I miss him and appreciated him. (it might seem really long but it reads pretty quickly I promise)

    Imagine
    coming into a large school
    an insignificantly small seventh grader:
    as impressionable as foam,
    as skidish as a frightened animal,
    as innocent as a daisy,
    when the principal
    of the entire school
    stops by your class
    to shout to you “happy birthday!”
    The principal who
    brought back the fight song,
    gave out prizes for the most spirited,
    encouraged our school community
    to bond and have pride in our amazing school.
    The principal who continued to stride
    down the hallways
    giving out “hello!”s and hugs
    even after he was diagnosed with
    Stage IV colon cancer.
    The principal who inspired us all to be
    not only good citizens
    but also confident and loving individuals.
    The principal who
    held on to his position
    with nerves of steel
    and a smile of sunshine
    until two weeks before he
    died.
    I was sixteen
    and heartbroken.
    He wasn’t gone,
    I told myself,
    no way. Not Mr. T,
    my hero,
    my source of laughter,
    my friend.
    We all say Hayfield isn’t the same
    without Dave Tremaine,
    but why not say
    “that makes me sad”?
    Why do we all
    settle
    on nods of sympathy with
    maybe
    a pat on the shoulder?
    Are we scared
    to admit that maybe,
    just maybe,
    the leader of our beloved school
    changed our lives?
    Dare I add, for the best?

    Sending you, Samantha, Grant, and Parker hugs and kisses.
    -Diana Haemer

  10. Hi Robyn, I wish that anniversaries were only for happy, positive events….but, unfortunately, they are not. I think about you and the kids often and am hoping that knowing that you’re all in so many people’s thoughts and prayers is somehow comforting, especially today. Jeanne

  11. Robyn,
    I continue to find inspiration, insight, comfort AND humor in your blog. Today, especially today, I wanted to remind you that what you have done, what you are doing is bigger than you think. It has helped me to navigate the process of family grief and my attempts to support others. Nothing you do will bring back what you lost. But what you are doing is putting some good back into this world. Thinking of you and your family today especially.

Leave a Reply

