August 15, 1992

When the calendar told me that it was August, my mind focused on various dates –

  • August 3  My sister in law’s birthday, also the 4 year mark of when we learned of Dave’s cancer
  • August 3 – 7  Hershey/Philly trip
  • August 11 and 13  need to go into work
  • August 15  Anniversary
  • August 16 – 22 Parker goes to camp
  • August 17 Sam goes back to school
  • My birthday

I woke up this morning thinking about how today will forever be the anniversary of the day that Dave and I got married.  But it is not our anniversary any more.  I would be lying if I said that I didn’t have a pretty big heart ache today.  I am sitting here shaking my head as I type this.  One year and two months later, I still struggle to believe that he is gone.

When I look at pictures from that day 23 years ago, I am struck again by the laughter and joy that permeated that day.  That laughter and joy would serve us well especially through our darkest and toughest of days.  I miss that, and I miss Dave.  Every day.

xoxo,

Robyn

Image

11 thoughts on “August 15, 1992

  1. It was such a fun day and we were all so happy for you both. Happy Anniversary to you. Thinking of you and missing David with all our heart. Ann

  2. Hang in there, Robyn! You are such a strong, remarkable person. I appreciate that you are still sharing your blog/feelings/wisdom. It’s too easy for friends, colleagues, even family of those left behind to avoid thinking about the loss once the funeral is over, or the first Christmas or birthday passes and we fail to appreciate that the loss is a lifelong journey. (I suspect people just don’t know the “right” thing to say so they stop saying anything as soon as the rituals of “the end” are over.)
    Our best to you and your kids as another school year is on its way.

  3. Oh Robyn how happy you both look…and so beautiful!!! I can understand what a tough day this must be for you. I’m glad you are remembering all the joy from that beautiful day but I’m sorry for the pain…so very sorry.. You are in my thoughts and prayers…..Lisa Hang in there

  4. Robyn,
    I can’t even imagine!! It’s interesting that my first thought when I focus on the Dave-Robyn team (since I only knew you as a team) is laughter. Whenever we were with you all, there was laughter. I know that must have helped you all get through the darkest hours. I know it makes me smile whenever I think of you all. You built such a joyful family with your strong partnership, and I think the graciousness and strength Samantha, Grant and Parker have shown is a direct reflection of that. I hope that eases tha pain a little, along with the ongoing admiration of your fans like me. Thanks for staying connected and continuing to teach us so much .
    Love,
    Nanabelle

  5. Robyn,
    Beautiful photos – thanks for sharing them. The smiles on your faces says it all. I’ve been thinking of you and your family as this month progresses and the many important dates it holds. Praying that Sam has a great fall semester. Just like Kyle, I cannot believe they are beginning their third year already!
    On a side note – The new turf field is almost complete in the stadium at Hayfield. There is so much orange. Dave would have loved it. The first thing Olivia said when we saw it was, “That orange is so bright, Mr. Tremaine can see it from heaven!”

  6. It was indeed such a wonderful day. A day full of love and laughter and a blessed memory of how you and Dave’s life together began with such joy. It was an indication of how laughter would be such a huge part of your days together and how as your family expanded with each child , they seemed to enter life so full of joy and ready to laugh along with you both.
    Dad and I both remembered yesterday and did not mention it only because we didn’t know if the kids remembered and did not want them to feel bad. Now I wish I had said something as even though Dave isn’t here to celebrate it seems wrong not to commemorate such a day filled with happiness for both of you. Sorry, Sweetheart, it won’t go unmentioned and celebrated by us again.

Leave a Reply

