Happy Birthday, Babe.

Last year we celebrated Dave’s 50th birthday with an orange tinted party at the Torpedo Factory.  In his honor we ate, drank, karaoke’d, and danced the night away.  I believe we appropriately paid tribute to his zest for life and his desire to “put the F in FUN”.

Today should have been his 51st birthday.  I had some ideas as to how we can remember him this year.  Maybe tackle a few…

  1. The first one is an easy one – wear some orange.
  2. Turn up the stereo/ipod/Sirius and blast some Van Halen. or Barry Manilow.  or show tunes.
  3. If you have “a few sodas” after work, raise your glass in a birthday toast.
  4. The kids and I are huge proponents of random acts of kindness.  We don’t set out planning to do something, but we try to keep our eyes opened to opportunities.  Maybe someone will cross your path today who could use a kindness.
  5. If you are planning on doing some end of the year donating, allow me to share two worthy causes –

Camp Kesemhttps://donate.kesem.org/checkout/donation?eid=54867

There is an option in the drop down menu to donate to a particular chapter.  Parker went to Camp Kesem at College of William and Mary but any of the camps could use support!

Dave Tremaine Memorial Scholarshiphttp://collegeaccessfairfax.org/donate/

I think it is easier to donate through the paypal link than to navigate the CFC site.  College Access Fairfax will send you a receipt for your donation which is tax deductible.  (Double win!)  Our plan is to give out at least four scholarships this year with the option to go up to six.  NOTE:  You can indicate that it’s for Dave’s scholarship in the “Add Special Instructions” area.

Finally, last year at Dave’s party I shared a quote from RENT.  This year I think these lyrics from WICKED best express what I want to say.

It well may be

That we will never meet again

In this lifetime

So let me say before we part

So much of me

Is made of what I learned from you

You’ll be with me

Like a handprint on my heart

And now whatever way our stories end

I know you have re-written mine

By being my friend.

 

Happy Birthday, babe.  Wish you were here.

xoxo,

Robyn

PS In case you never got to witness it firsthand, here is a picture of Dave in all his karaoke glory with his partner in crime, his sister.

DSC03012

 

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Babe.

  1. So remember that from Wet Willies with the bouncer quickly approaching!! Happy Birthday to David. Miss him more than words can say and thinking of you and the kids today. What a loss!! Ann

  2. A day does not go by with out my thinking about David! It mostly comes with a big smile of remembered times of joy but occasionally it arrived with unexpected tears because even though I have been so blessed by knowing him, I miss his huge smile, and joyful laughter and remember that I, too, am a changed person from watching him stroll through life teaching by example and love.
    It makes me sad that he is not now present in the ways that sons, siblings, friends, mentors, Husbands, and Dads on the earthly plane are with those they love with all their hearts. Then I will see a Hawk swoop through my field of vision and I think, you know what? He isn’t missing the visual parts of their lives at all. I hope and pray they are also being silently nudged each day in ways we will never know with the tenants he lived by always. Work hard to reach your goals. Play hard as we all deserve some fun and joy in our lives. Lastly, N E V E R miss a chance to let others know how important they are to us and if they take the gifts they have been blessed to have and share them with others, they will better all the lives they touch (including their own), and make this world we live in a much better place!

    Happy Birthday, Dave!! Have a beer for me, Sing out with a joyful noise, and always remember I love you!

  3. LOVE those suggestions of how to celebrate Dave’s life, Robyn. I’m sportin’ the orange today…. And your mom is a really special woman – love her words of encouragement despite the deep feelings of sadness. *tight hug* for you, sweet friend!

  4. Celebrated a day early by attending the play, Beauty and the Beast at Hayfield SS last night. I thought what better way to remember Dave then supporting the drama program that he loved. And it was a musical! Thanks for the photo. Besides the obvious fun Dave was having it struck me how much Parker looks like Kris in that photo. Hope you do some things that make you smile this weekend.

  5. Oh Pam Thompson that was beautiful – just beautiful….Dear Robyn, I hope you made it through yesterday…(I was able to check off 4 of the 5 on your list – Barry Manilow was by accident but I turned it up!!!!)…..Know that you are in the thoughts and prayers of so very many Robyn…..
    Always, Lisa..

Leave a Reply

