Things That Make You Go “Hmmm…”

A month or so ago I wrote about a random memory I had involving Dave and the theory that basset hounds smell like corn chips.

https://embracingtherollercoaster.wordpress.com/2016/02/19/a-first/

One morning last week I woke up to the distinct smell of Fritos permeating my airspace.  When I rolled over, sure enough, there was Gunner happily snoring next to me on my bed.  My first thought was that Dave had found a way to mess with me.  In 14 years of basset hound ownership I have enjoyed (or not) many an aroma but never a corn chippy scent.  I smiled to myself, didn’t think too much more about it, and went on with my day.

A few mornings later, something else happened that really left me wondering.  After Dave died, I started wearing his wedding band on a chain around my neck.  It is always tucked out of sight, but I find it comforting wearing it close to my heart.  On that particular morning I got up and went downstairs.  As I was making coffee I noticed that my chain felt very light.  Sure enough when I inspected the necklace, the ring was gone, but the chain was still fastened and intact.  I went back upstairs to see if I could find it and discovered the ring on the floor next to my side of the bed.

I am not one to believe in visits from our loved ones after they are gone, but these two back to back occurrences have left me a tiny bit more open to the idea.  Mostly I just found comfort in the connectedness.

xoxo,

Robyn

FullSizeRender

2 thoughts on “Things That Make You Go “Hmmm…”

  1. Things that make you go hmmmmm
    INDEED!
    WOW…I don’t know whether to smile or cry.
    This one has me wondering…just what does make these occurrences take place
    I am going to choose to believe that Dave sent you Gunner and Rufus as a medium to send you messages 🙂
    That’s my two cents
    Love’Ya

Leave a Reply

