I’ve Got This. Hopefully.

I found myself googling “natural remedies for anxiety/stress” last night.  After reading a few suggestions, I decided that maybe sleep was just as good as anything.  As we head into the last few weeks of school, life will become increasingly busy.

On Sunday we saw Sam back off to CNU.  She will be spending the next 9 weeks doing an internship at school.  I am so proud of her for writing the application for the grant money, having the application approved, and being selected to participate in this work.  Incredibly, this girl who once had a paralyzing fear of fish will be spending the summer manhandling them as she explores the adaptations to different species – or at least that is my understanding of the project.  I am excited that she has this opportunity to learn and gain valuable experience.  But I also worry.  Sam is prone to some pretty low lows.  I worry about her being lonely as colleges can be ghost towns in the summer months.  Her lows can likely be traced to loneliness but also to living with chronic pain.  She came home in May with what turned out to be a pretty significant hip fracture.  Her orthopedist wondered aloud how she was even managing to get around.  She did physical therapy during the month she was home, and I am hopeful that the pain will continue to ease as the summer goes on.  But moms worry.

This week is the warm up for the hectic few weeks to come.  I have a big parent night at school that I have been planning with a colleague.  It will be a relief to have that behind me.  Friday night is prom.  We have been suit shopping and shoe shopping.  Grant is going to look so dashing.  The guy that sold him his suit told him his goal was to make him “look better than his friends”.

Next week we have Parker’s final band concert, scholarship awards at Hayfield, Grant’s graduation, graduation dinner, All Night Grad party, and finally a swim meet after we see Grant off for Beach Week (or Lake Week, in his case).  Also, the two year anniversary of losing Dave is next Thursday which is always in the back of my mind.

Once we get through all of that there is the final week of school to get through.  I am doing some home visits.  We have a final big meeting at school mid-week.  There is also Parker’s 6th grade advancement ceremony and the 6th grade party.  In between I will be at work finishing up all the things that need to be done before the school year is officially over.

I am not complaining.  Certainly if Meg’s sudden and tragic death reminds me of anything, it is that you never know what the next day might bring.  I am thankful that the kids are doing well and moving forward.  I am grateful that I have, at least for one more year, a job that allows me to work part time so that I can strike a balance between home and work.  I also know myself pretty well.  With all of these events and changes, I get anxious.  I wake up during the night and worry.  I am not someone who thrives on change or likes back to back to back events and activities.  I am going to try to just take it one day and one event at a time.  Wish me luck.

xoxo,

Robyn

5 thoughts on “I’ve Got This. Hopefully.

  1. Your honesty and authentic style of writing is something I look forward to …..keeping up with Dave’s family, I KNOW he is just so proud. You know life is a crap shoot, but your entries report a thriving family in the midst of unimaginable grief. I am sure you are an inspiration, Robyn. Fondly, Jackie

  2. Wow…you have so much going on…yet you remain strong and hopeful…you are an inspiration.
    Good Luck in all your plans.
    p.s., Ditto on what Jackie McK said!

  3. Look in that mirror and take a DEEP breath and say I can do this!!!! You are ROBYN STRONG!!!!! You have been on the road of sooo many bends and curves in the past few years but Robyn look at all that you have done. I hope you get some much needed rest and fun this summer with Grant and Parker.

  4. Good luck, Robyn! In a few weeks, when all this hustle and bustle is behind you, please remember to pat yourself on the back for a job well done. Congrats to Sam, Grant and Parker! Enjoy celebrating all their wonderful achievements.

Leave a Reply

