Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger

Any Kanye fans?  “that that don’t kill me, can only make me stronger”

I woke up this morning thinking about the time that I had to go to Hayfield to return Dave’s phone and laptop etc.  The interim principal met me and walked me back to what used to be Dave’s office.  I stood there shellshocked while he tested out Dave’s keys in the door and desk drawers.  It was so thoughtless and insensitive.  I was frozen in place.

My next thought was that two years later, I am not that person anymore.  There is no chance now that I wouldn’t turn on my heel and walk out the door.  The stunned, voiceless shell is no more.  2016 me is far less complicated and way more forgiving than versions past.  What you see is what you get.

I made it through the last few weeks of potential land mines unscathed.  My anniversary, in the end, was just another day.  I thought of Dave.  I missed what should have been.  I got my hair cut and went out to dinner with friends.  Grant and I got him moved into VCU.  I navigated the closed off roads and traffic that comes with going to an urban school.  We moved his carful of belongings into his apartment and set up his space.  The girls met us in Richmond, and we shared a meal together before heading our separate ways.  Life does incredibly move on.

I couldn’t have imagined this place two years ago.  I am sure that time line is different for everyone.  And I am equally sure that there will still be dips and valleys.  Tomorrow I start my sixth year back in FCPS, this year with an interim principal, thankfully not the same one.

xoxo,

Robyn

Image

3 thoughts on “Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger

  1. So proud of you that you got through the past week relatively unscathed. It seems like a gift that as we mature age-wise we tend to care less what others think of our actions and more of what is truly right for us and our families.
    Even thinking that the interim principal might have lacked experience in dealing with your situation, and was doing what was probably required but could have been done without you being present; it was hugely unnecessary and unkind. “When you know better, you do better” and I hope it will someday soon apply to him. I am so sorry that you had to experience that, sweetheart.

  2. Congratulations Robyn on a job well done!!!! You have two kids in college. You are in a better place these days but we all know life has it’s bumps in the road at times. We’re all here for you my friend. You’ve come a long way in these past two years!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

