Thankful

Today, as every day, I am thankful for the three best people I know.  They just happen to be my children.  They are so much fun to be around.  Want to be inspired?  Spend some time talking to any one of them.  They are not just doing okay in our post-Dave world, they are kicking ass.

I have always given so much credit to Dave for how well they have navigated life since June 2014.  He provided for us financially so that we have a roof over our head and food on the table, tuition can be paid and trips can be taken.  That peace of mind has been a blessing many times over.  He provided for us emotionally especially in the last few weeks before he died.  I believe that we all carry his words letting us know that we would be okay and to take things one step at a time close to our hearts.  I will always be thankful for the man and father that he was and how completely selfless he was during those last days so that his energy could be spent wrapping us in a Dave sized security blanket to last us a lifetime.

I also want to give so much credit to Sam, Grant, and Parker.  They could have fallen into a pit of self-pity.  It would have been understandable.  It certainly has been tempting a time or two for me.  But they didn’t, and I didn’t.  Together we have been able to be strong when one wasn’t.  We have in pairs and as a group bolstered each other through the saddest of times.  We laugh.  We cry.  We always find a way to laugh again.  I know every parent thinks they are the luckiest, but I happen to know for fact, that I hold that title.

Happy Thanksgiving.

xoxo,

Robyn

 

5 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. They are indeed the incredible three and a lot of that is due to their wonderful parents. It is such a blessing to have all of you in our lives and we feel blessed that they still enjoy spending time with us…we treasure each and every minute! Xoxo Mom and Dad

  2. Robyn,
    I continue to celebrate with you the successes in the extraordinary journey you, Samantha, Grant, and Parker have had since Dave’s death. The Tremaines are indeed a force of nature; I always knew that about my friend Dave and I feel I have come to know it about his family. You and Dave were the poster parents for providing wings for your children, and they have indeed already shown that they are adept at taking risks and seizing opportunities that help them soar. The resilience of your children is a reflection of your confidence in them. There is no one I enjoy spending time with more than my Matt, so I am happy that you can have the same experience with your kids.
    My best wishes to you all for the holiday season and the new year ahead. May you continue to
    thrive.
    Love,
    Nanabelle

  3. Robyn what a wonderful post and you are right your kids have been great I wish I were closer so I could be more a part of this but you all have done a great job I am so proud of all of you this has not been easy. And you are also right that Dave had a huge part of that and we all miss him.
    much much love
    Aunt Carolyn

Leave a Reply

